Spend a Day in Kitchen : Check

Not into cooking or baking? But want to surprise someone with a cake?

“Spending a Day in Kitchen” was a “Thing to Do” in my bucket list of this Summer. I also wanted to surprise my mom with a cake on her Birthday. So it was the best opportunity to make her happy and put a tick on my list. But the problem was that the only things I had ever made before in the kitchen were papad and maggi (that to by following the instructions from my sister) :p

So I took help from some of my friends from the opposite gender and Sanjeev Kapoor’s recipe. Thanks to them 🙂

This is the video I referred:

Dark Chocolate Fudge Cake [With Egg] [In Microwave/Oven]

Time Required: 4 hours including everything 🙂

-> Reading this article, Watching the Video and preparing: 1 hour approx
-> Getting The Ingredients: 1 hour approx
-> Baking: 1 hours approx
-> Cleaning the Kitchen: 15 minutes approx
-> Miscellaneous: 45 minutes

Effort Required: Going to the market, spending time in kitchen.

Money Required: Rs 250 approx

Ingredients:

  1. Refined Flour (Maida) – 1.25 cups
  2. Baking Powder – 1.25 Teaspoons
  3. Dark Chocolate  – 115 gms (3 packs of Rs 30 Bournville)
  4. Unsalted Butter – 150 gms
  5. Sugar – 1 Cup
  6. Eggs – 3
  7. Vanilla Essence – 1 Teaspoon
  8. Hung Yogurt – 2/3 Cups

Hung Yogurt is curd without water content. A muslin cloth (malmal ka kapda) is used to prepare it. It is required to hang the cloth containing curd in the Refrigerator for 2-4 hours, so that it leaves the water. However I could do it for only one hour.

Steps to follow and process:

  1. Put curd in the muslin cloth and hang it in the refrigerator, because it requires the maximum time.
  2. Get Ingredients which are not available at home from the market.
  3. Do watch the video, it will walk you through the process. However (No need to Pre-Heat if you are using a Microwave and bake in an open container at 100 degrees in the Microwave.)
  4. Below I have just summarized everything in the next two photos.

123456782345678

The Final Output

The Final Output

The Presentation

The Presentation

I made a couple of more things with the cake to surprise and impress my mom. She was really happy 🙂
I couldn’t have done this without my Sister’s constant help and kitchen ethics :p
Wish this could be a help or even inspiration for some 🙂 :p
Please feel free to ask/discuss anything!
Happy Baking 🙂

2 thoughts on “Spend a Day in Kitchen : Check

Leave a Reply

