Innocence of a child

Sometimes while taking to my parents it happens that from somewhere we reach to discussing “funny incidents from the past”.

Most of these funny incidents are what I or my sister did when we were a kid. The awesome thing is that, all these incidents have something in common, they all have so much honesty, hope and innocence in them, that they always want me to go back in time when I was a kid. 😀

It’s not that I don’t like getting older (as if it matters and there is a choice :p), each phase of life brings awesomeness in its own way, and I love it, but “the innocence and straightforwardness of the child” away from any hypocrisy or bias is a thing I surely miss. 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Anyways, coming back to the point, remembering some funny incidents :-
There was this day when I got up in the morning and asked my mom if it were day after tomorrow today [mamma aaj parso hai kya?] (yeah, right, she also got confused :D). She curiously asked what’s there day after tomorrow? [kyu, parso kya hai?] I told her that “day after tomorrow was supposed to be a holiday. [mamma parso na meri chutti hai]. It turns out I had been told in school that there will be a holiday “day after tomorrow” so I was hoping the next day I get up is actually “Day after tomorrow” so that its my holiday and I don’t have to go to school. 😛

Another very interesting story involves me along with my cousin. One fine day before Christmas we had a very deep and serious discussion about the whole “Santa Claus” theory. She explained me there wasn’t any Santa Claus and our parents keep gifts for us. Both of us were kids and this concept was very important to us in our own ways. She had recently discovered something she was unaware of for a long time and wanted to genuinely convey what she had learnt about the concept to me. I however was so full of imagination and hope or whatever that I completely disagreed and she totally failed in her attempt to disillusion me, however correct she might have been. I even thought her to be completely wrong and it shocked me that she didn’t know the real theory of Santa. I told my mom and dad, that she doesn’t know anything, “she thinks there is no Santa and you guys keep gifts”. I wondered how much unaware she is about things. Now, I don’t remember when I discovered the truth myself, but my school of thought was quite interesting and full of hope back then, just as a lot of other kids 😛

There are unlimited such incidents that are locked inside my heart. My sister was also equally (if not more) entertaining. 😀 I don’t think it will be a great idea to write something about what she did when she was a kid (she still is a kid to me :p) because she might kill me if I do so.

Remember your “kid” times, what was the most innocent thing you did when you were a kid?

I would love to hear interesting answers 😀

Leave a Reply

