The 2016 Flashback

Getting inspired from my sister, I am writing this post to recall the year 2016. The idea is to pause for a while and think about the big and small moments that made me happy, or made me sad or just made me smile πŸ™‚ Think about all those events and experiences that made me learn something new, gave me goosebumps and made me excited πŸ™‚

Not an exhaustive list, as that’s not easy, but let me see what all I can put in here. I will start going month wise, assigning some interesting and worthwhile events that happened for me during that month and then I will add something more if required.

Thanks to my Instagramming habits this year, I will have pictures to attach to events of each of the month πŸ™‚

JANUARY:

I can recall the amazing sports fest TWARAN, at IIITM-Gwalior, in which our college participated. It was an yearly ritual and I had participated before as well, however this year was much more special. I was the one who lead the contingent, and also, it was the last outstation sports fest in which our contingent participated.

IIITM-Gwalior, TWARAN-2016 #Sports #SportsFest A moment of electronic peace πŸ˜€ PC: @vedanshi_kataria

A post shared by Bavneet Singh (@bavneetsingh) on

FEBRUARY:

Not much that I could remember, but the Instagram suggests another sports fest, the one at LSR, another last one, and hence again a little special. And not many would be able to relate, but it was a very interesting tennis experience me and my friend Akhil had had there πŸ™‚

Also, it was February when, I had whole heartedly started to look out for opportunities in my domain of interest and passion, I had started to connect with sports enthusiasts from all over, in the hope to start an interesting after college journey soon.

Sports Fest #LSR 3rd Time Medal πŸ˜€ #Silver #Tennis

A post shared by Bavneet Singh (@bavneetsingh) on

MARCH:

Well, March was quite happening. It was the month when we at IIITD organized it’s first ever Sports Fest – Triquetra. I was happy to be part of it and lead the effort all the way through along with my amazing friends of the Sports Council.

I also completed the full marathon, yes 42 kms πŸ˜€ I have shared my experience here.

The chronicles of Sports Fest πŸ˜€ #Triquetra'16 #SportsFest #Sports #IIITD #NSIT #DTU

A post shared by Bavneet Singh (@bavneetsingh) on

Pushed to the limits…! Literally πŸ˜€ An unexplainable feeling. #FullMrathon #42.2km #Finisher #FeelingProud

A post shared by Bavneet Singh (@bavneetsingh) on

Also, we had this amazing picnic at one of our friend’s place πŸ˜€

The Perfect Saturday πŸ˜€

A post shared by Bavneet Singh (@bavneetsingh) on

Sleep like a dead πŸ˜› In the nature, on the rock πŸ˜€ #Friends #Saturday #Picnic

A post shared by Bavneet Singh (@bavneetsingh) on

APRIL:

It marked the end of an era. IIITD Farewell. 2012132 signed off as the “Flying Singh” πŸ™‚

The last few deadlines! Or so we think πŸ˜€ #TheSeriesOfLasts #Farewell #IIITD

A post shared by Bavneet Singh (@bavneetsingh) on

MAY:

When college really ended! And it sort of happened quite abruptly for me. I still remember the afternoon Β of that last speech from our Director (well, not everything, but a lot :P). We had our pen day right after in the evening and right then I emptied my hostel room. Β All happened so quickly, because I was to…

Go to Pune the next day, to attend the PISE (Pune International Sports Expo) and it was another cool experience. I networked my way around for the first time. All because of my passion to Work For Sports.

But because of that, all the feelings of going away from college entering another life were wrapped up in so less of a time, that I could hardly feel anything. Good in a way, not so good in another.

Hush, I don’t have any special photo from Pune, though I have something to remember.

img_20160505_102240_hdr

JUNE:

I officially started by first job. Joined the goSporto and SportsWave team in Gurgaon, on route to embark my journey to explore the industry of sports, in the hope to create a difference. It was special in a lot of ways πŸ™‚ Also, you feel all grown up when you start earning πŸ˜›

Shifted place as well, somewhere nearby only, so that was new too!

No photos to post here though. It’s all in the feels πŸ˜€

JULY:

Things got into some sort of a routine and I took a PG in Gurgaon as well. It was all work work work now, but it was all fun fun fun and new things to learn learn learn as well. It was amazing to get opportunity to drive things. I was working on an amazing project, all in the fever of Olympics.

AUGUST:

Convocation happened. And also happened a nice outing to the IMF πŸ™‚Β Thanks to the friends who finally made it happen πŸ˜€

It was the month of Olympics and I really followed the whole event quite closely this time. It was fantastic, and cheers to the Indian sports women who made everyone proud!

I also saw what is it to fail in a work project and how to handle that. Learning the real stuff!

SEPTEMBER:

Davis Cup Tie: India vs Spain – When Nadal was here and Leander was a treat to watch πŸ™‚

Also attended the Jazz festival another time. It’s high time I get better in the Music department πŸ˜›

When Rafa was here πŸ˜€ #DavisCup #IndVsSpa #Rafa #Nadal

A post shared by Bavneet Singh (@bavneetsingh) on

OCTOBER:

New things started in the work front, traveled to Mumbai and then Pune for work. And now it will just not be enough to pen down the experience briefly on this post. So I will leave that for later.

NOVEMBER:

Arguably the most happening and most interesting month of the year for me. It adds to the awesomeness that it was my Birthday month as well πŸ™‚ Although my Birthday wasn’t as special, but that’s okay πŸ˜›

“Remember Remember the 8th of Novemeber.”

8th & 9th November would be globally remembered for obvious reasons. Though, they were special to me because I visited my campus on 8th-November and then o 9th, I left for Mumbai for a long work trip.

I went to Mumbai, then to Chennai-Vellore and then to Bangalore, before coming back to Mumbai. It was a very amazing trip, in all possible ways. Mumbai gave me all kinds of feel, and I will write about that sometime else. Though my Instagram fully justifies that πŸ™‚

Missed this the most πŸ˜› #OldDays #IIITD #BackToCampus

A post shared by Bavneet Singh (@bavneetsingh) on

On this historic day, I land in the bay πŸ™‚ #MumbaiDiaries #Bombay #8thNov #9thNov

A post shared by Bavneet Singh (@bavneetsingh) on

DECEMBER:

After about 40 days and a 100 Instagram photos later πŸ˜› , came back to Delhi on 20th-December. If Mumbai gave me the feels, Delhi gave me the chills. Enjoyed the last few days of the year, by going here and there.

Also celebrated with the office peeps the 6th Anniversary of the journey of the team.


  • In the Food & Drinks department, tried a lot of sea food in Mumbai and the rest is a secret πŸ™‚
  • In the Music Department, it’s kind of my aim to understand and explore “Jazz” and “Rock” music. Touched upon the two and want to dig deeper.
  • Couldn’t read books, so that’s a target for the year to come, kinda seriously!
  • In the TV Shows Department, I binge watched Seinfeld, continued Suits, Mr. Robot, eagerly awaiting Sherlock and Attack on Titans. Also halfway through the amazing Sports Night.
  • In the Movies Department, I don’t know why I did that, and now why am I mentioning this, but I watched Baar Baar Dekho and Befikre, both in Mumbai, and it was fun πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
  • I travelled to Gwalior, Pune, Mumbai, Chennai, Vellore, Bangalore this year.
  • Met a lot of new people, some made a strong impression, some became friends. Everyone inspired in their own ways.

Cheers to the amazing year that was and the more amazing year that will be. Thanks to all those who came and all those who may come

I am repeating myself, but its worth remembering that the future has the power to surprise. It has the power to unfold completely new, different and amazing things

So, all the best, hope we survive another amazing new year, with an everlasting smile πŸ™‚

whatsapp-image-2017-01-01-at-11-47-50

One thought on “The 2016 Flashback

  1. Pingback: The 2016 Flashback | Discover Yourself

Leave a Reply

